Check out this pool
Cape Paterson has two beaches, the Cape Paterson Surf Beach and the Cape Paterson Bay Beach, which has a man-made ocean pool sited on a rock platform. (Thanks to our member, Sandra Blamey for giving us permission to use her 2017 images of this pool on our website.)
Cape Paterson was named in honour of William Paterson, a soldier and explorer, who governed the colony of New South Wales both between the departure of Major Grose in 1794 and the arrival of Governor Hunter and in the period between the departure of Governor Bligh and the arrival of Governor Macquarie in 1810.
Coal was being shipped from Cape Paterson to Sydney.
1909 to 1968
The State Coal Mine at Wonthaggi operated from 1909 to 1968.
Coal miners created the rock pool at Cape Paterson Bay Beach in the 1960s.
Images of the Cape Paterson Bay Beach pool appeared in the Travel Victoria Accommodation Guide for Wonthaggi.
The Cape Paterson Bay Beach Activity Area Master Plan adopted by Bass Coast Shire Council supported improvements to ‘the iconic man-made tidal rock pool’ such as improving access to the pool for people with disabilities and reducing the hazards posed by the pool’s ‘dangerously sharp concrete edges’. Community consultation had highlighted concerns that overdevelopment of the rock pool might detract from its historical significance.
The rock pool is still seen as adding to the appeal of the beach. Images of the pool appear in Travel Victoria’s Wonthaggi photos.
The State Coal Mine at Wonthaggi is a heritage site offering underground tours.
The year when the images on this profile were taken.